Silver Beaver

The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council. It is given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service. It is given to those who do not actively seek it.

The medal consists of a silver beaver pendant suspended from a blue and white ribbon worn around the neck. Recipients may wear the corresponding square knot, with a white strand over a blue strand, on the BSA uniform. Using the United States Military as the model, silver awards are the highest awards in the BSA.

Nomination: Information for the Atlanta Area Council can be found here: Nominations are generally due in November (check for current deadlines), announcements are in December, and the ceremony in late Spring the following year.


Foothills District Silver Beavers

Year Recipients
Lewis Hays
Bob Ott
Mike Cherches
Tina Kerr
Stephanie Daniels
David Jaracz
Sam Olens
Donaldson Dodge
Donald Olds
2013 Mark Prestwich
Donna Vinson
2012 Wayne Marcinko
Wade Patrick
2011 Eric Flamm
Tom Haltom
Greg Knight
2010 Brian Campbell
Morgan Robertson
Bill Russell
2009 Doug Bahr
Rodrigo Cano
Bob Cato
Steve Harrison
2008 Tom Bulger
Henry Molinet
John Overcash
Tim Tassopoulos
Mary Ellen Yeomans
2007 Cary Bradley
Ted Crouse, Jr.
Harry “Hap” McNeel
Dennis Rowe
David Schimmel
2006 Tim Aumann
Pat Bonito
Marilyn Parker
2005 Michele LaVigne
2004 Jay Lentini
2003 Kathy Esler
Susan Hardy
2002 Dave Heusinger
2001 Dennis Esler
Tom Morin
2000 Steve Fisher
1999 Dave Adams
Tommy Treat
Kim Kaumeyer
1998* Bill Hall
William “Bill” Weinberger
John C. Lyon, Jr.
Billy Ray Hight
1997 Karen Angeli
George Henry Mingledorff III
Tommy Sprayberry
Kenneth E. Williams
1996 Fred Feltmann
Andy Heaton
Mike Wiedower
1995 James C. Fenner
Peter J. Huber
John Huffman
1994 David Muller, Sr.
Sherry Huffman
Wanda Lawson
1993 Cliff MacMahan
Rex Allred
1992 David Muller, Jr.
Rev. James Speed
G. William Hill
1991 Karen Gagnon
Dr. Robert O. Stephens
John L. Sullivan
Pam Googe
1990 Curt Newton
Fred Droms
Nancy Johnsen
1989 Ginny Acocella
Lawrence Jefferson
Bion Jones
1988 Albert H. Friel
Oscar Towns
1987 Ken Stadler
1986 Monty Calhoun
Duane Ruggles
1984 Fredricks Garlinghouse
Jim Vaughn
1983 Richard Choate
1982 Hank Thornburgh
1981 Henry Branton
Ted M. Vinson
Daniel Worley
1980 Ronald R. Roper
1978 Thomas Ashworth
Robert O. Claunch
William Woods
1977 Malcom Bowles
1976 Bill Collier
1975 Thomas A. Ogletree
1974 Arthur Arceneault
* Recipients prior to 1999 were volunteers in the Cobb district,
prior to the restructuring that created the Foothills district.